Thumbing a Lift

This is my slightly late response to last Saturday’s Prompt Stomp prompt: DOOR (although I wrote in time on paper I’ve been having a posting lull this last week or so). This really happened on Tuesday afternoon, arriving at my medical appointment. I have to hope it’s the only ‘bad luck’ I came away with that day. Of course it wasn’t a huge problem and not the one that’s been preventing me from functioning this week. Previously functioning causes problems with current functioning, over and again. I just have to ride those waves. I don’t mind pain that’s easy to understand, reduces over certain time and heals. It makes a nice change some ways as daft as that must sound. Anyway, back to the Limerick poem I wrote inspired by the ‘DOOR’ prompt:

Thumbing a Lift (Limerick)

Catching my thumb in a taxi-cab door

Made it throb so incredibly sore

But it surely did help

me forget my poor health

so my head pain no longer fore-thought!

 Thumbing a Lift (very small injury)

Thumbing a Lift (very small injury)

6 thoughts on “Thumbing a Lift

    • Thanks Megan, yup I swore at the time and a few times more in those first few minutes – but it really did distract from some of my other pain, though not quite all and the first bit’s the worst, after a day it really wasn’t too bad anymore and I’ve seen and had worse nail bruising 🙂 My only recent poetry has been limericks, I’ve written dozens of the things while playing with this form so it was nice to think of one to write for your prompt that tied in with my week this week. thanks for commenting 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  1. Seriously Looking on the bright side there! My father in law, may he rest in peace, would say (and his son still does) where does it hurt? get hammer, hit thumb, whatever else will no longer bother you. He had m.s. for years and was a salty ole feller but i miss him My hands would not want the hammer, the door, anything as they are my Main Pain in the…..at present. My limerick for w201 dedicated to them not working right 😀

    Liked by 1 person

    • You wrote a fab limerick 🙂 Are you doing Rashmi’s Limerick Poetry Challenge? there’s a link to it on my post… I’ve written loads of limericks this last couple of days, it’s a really fun form 🙂 I still need to catch up with most of the others from 201 though 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

